Skip to content

Keep calm and stop sipping on that haterade

December 4, 2011

“Don’t feel entitled to anything you didn’t sweat and struggle for.”-Marian Wright Edelman

“Any fool can criticize, condemn and complain but it takes character and self-control to be understanding and forgiving.”-Dale Carnegie

Good afternoon SQers! It’s been a while right? Hope you all are doing well. I hope you had a great Thanksgiving and are enjoying the start to the holiday season. Whether you celebrate a holiday in December or not, I think it has the potential to be a magical time of year. The mood just seems to be brighter and full of love. However, I also know that the weeks leading up to it can turn stressful or borderline frustrating. To people whose lives are currently starting to fall more into the 2nd category like myself…hang in there! Tough it out and then in a couple of weeks you will be done.  

Whenever I am asked what my pet peeves are, I usually respond by either saying people who are fake or liars. And it’s true that those two types of people annoy me to no end. However, on a more day-to-day basis what aggravates me the most is people who feel like they are entitled to something coupled with people who unnecessarily criticize.

In referencing entitled people, I am talking about those people who just have that gut feeling that they deserve things. It usually tends to be the same people who think that about themselves with no personal merit or reason…they simply believe that they should get certain things and will. That logic has never made sense to me and probably never will.  You are entitled to certain basic things as a human being which are adequate food, shelter and resources, an opinion and other basic human liberties. Aside from that, what you get most times  is a direct product of your hard work and persistence. What you think you deserve needs to be kept to yourself. It can be used as a guiding principle in deciding what you go after, but not a means to an end.  It would not kill those people to have a tiny slice of humble pie and to learn some humility.

Entitlement coupled with constant criticism is a dangerous combination. I believe in constructive criticism, I think it plays a huge role in helping us grow and better ourselves.  What I have no tolerance for is people who take it upon themselves to criticize everyone and everything. I will admit that I joke around sarcastically and make fun of things quite a bit, but even I know my limits.  To constantly deride and belittle someone is wrong especially when you are not in a better position yourself.  I have a theory about people like this…I think it gives them personal gratification to demean other people because they use it to boast about themselves.  It is so easy to criticize other people. It does not require a whole lot of effort or forethought. My question to those people is what gives you the right to do that? When did you become so high and mighty that you took that burden on yourself to criticize people who you deem lesser than yourself? First of all, you are no better than them to be doing so. Second,  you have no idea what that person has been through and still deals with so your words might do more than you originally plan for them to.  As if all of that was not enough,  constantly criticizing just makes you seem like a negative person who people do not want to be around.  To rise above the urge to constantly criticize takes more than the ease with which you can take cheap shots to criticize.

Take the time this week to work hard, be humble and not exude entitlement. Be more understanding and choose the higher road rather than criticizing those around you.

That’s all for now. Have a great week!

See you next Sunday,

❤ SQ

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 4, 2011 2:32 pm

    I like and understand and appreciate this post

  2. December 4, 2011 6:20 pm

    Great post and a good reminder to be aware of our minds. Love the coining of the word haterade.

  3. December 8, 2011 6:27 pm

    Your welcome. I will think of it every time I open a bottle and be reminded to watch what my thoughts are doing. Criticism and gossip release powerful endorphins that are addictive, which is why its so easy to slip into this state by default…. I have heard.

Leave a Reply

