Skip to content

Chances are only what we make them and all I need

September 18, 2011
  • Title Inspiring Song: “Chances”-Five for Fighting
“Progress always involves risks. You can’t steal second base and keep your foot on first.”-Frederick B. Wilcox
“Chance is perhaps the pseudonym of God when he does not wish to sign his work.”-Anatole France

Good morning SQers! I know it’s been a while since I have written, but we finally have internet again in my apartment so you can expect more regular posts from now on. Aside from posting, I have had quite the few first weeks being back at school. Hope you all are settling into fall and your routines well.

I think that the subject of this week’s post builds off another one of my posts from earlier:  The Best Kind of Surprise and I know I  have written about risk before.  I consider myself to be a fairly kind and relatively sweet person despite what my friends (who play witness to my more sarcastic side) might think. Yet, that being said I am by no means perfect and subject to judging just as much as everyone else.  When I do develop an opinion about something, I tend to stubbornly cling to it and there can seem like there is little hope of changing my mind. Can I change my mind and opinions? Yes but it does take a while. Sometimes even at my own expense. Being aware of our opinions and using our likes/dislikes can be useful in allowing us to create a framework to live by, but just the same it limits us. We live so dutifully within that framework that we are extremely ignorant to all that exists outside of it.

Rarely do we ever realize how trapped we are until we find ourselves victims of the same pattern repeating the same mistakes over and over again. Of course by then it is more of a last resort than a premature step.  Instead of waiting for that to happen, we need to make more of a conscious effort to strive to live outside of the framework. I am not suggesting that each of you go out and take up activities like sky-diving and bungee jumping…just that you open your eyes more often. Be more aware and conscious of the options around you..not just career-wise…in everything. Take a risk or a gamble that you might not have ordinarily considered. Taking a chance on something you previously would have never considered might be the very thing which changes your life.Make an effort this week to not judge as much and to give things/people/events a chance and the benefit of the doubt. Progress and good things come from breaking the habit.

That’s all for now. Have a great week!
❤ SQ
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

