Skip to content

Kick-starting kindness in your own life

July 3, 2011

“Beginning today, treat everyone you meet as if they were going to be dead by midnight. Extend to them all the care, kindness, and understanding you can muster, and do it with no thought of any reward. Your life will never be the same again.”-Og Mandino

Want to practice something that will change your life immediately? Practice looking at people with your heart not your head. Ask yourself, “What does my heart see when I look at Sam or Margaret or that older lady in the elevator or that young man skateboarding on the sidewalk?” And then, listen and be ready for a major step forward. Tonight or tomorrow morning give it a try!”-Paul Boynton

Good morning SQers! To all of my American readers, I hope you all are having a great 4th of July Weekend & getting in some much-needed rest and relaxation. To everyone, Happy Start-of-July! I am sure some of you find it bizarre that I write like the start of a month is a holiday itself, but hey it adds to the fun that way. Plus a new month is a scaled down version of a new year, but an extension of a new day. In short, a wonderful time to start with a clean slate and change things up.

For the past couple months, I have been thinking about how I used to be such a kind, nice person and somehow managed to lose that in becoming incredibly negative about everyone and everything. As good as that negativity might have felt in the moment, on the whole it adds up be not so healthy. I can name a couple of people off the top of my head who personally are some of the kindest people I have ever met.  Kindness is an admirable virtue that I think sometimes we can lose sight of.

I’ll spare you one of my usual rants, but just remind you that true kindness is not something people are likely to forget. In the past, I know I have talked about the merits of volunteering, generosity, giving and altruism; however, today what I wanted to talk about is how to add some kindness to your own life. Even if it does begin on a small-scale.

I came across both these quotes this week and they definitely made me think so I’m going to let them marinate  in your minds and make you think. Think about how you treat the people in your life and yes I mean everyone. From your friends, family, colleagues, peers, neighbors, mail carrier, to the barista that makes your coffee every morning, the people driving next to you in traffic and even strangers. How many times have you let something that may have happened to you in one domain of your life affect the way you treat someone else who is completely unrelated?  We love when people unexpectedly do nice things for us so it is about time we started returning the favor. Not just with your friends & family, but maybe to that co-worker you always see every morning or your neighbor (even though you secretly think he or she might be rude). Challenge yourself to stick it out and be nice no matter what might have happened to you earlier that day or what might be coming up.  You never know what might turn someone else’s day around and cleanse your own soul in the process. 

I am challenging you all to commit to this mindset for the next 2 weeks. To do at least one genuinely nice thing for someone. I’m talking real nice stuff people….not just the polite hold the door/ hold the elevator/let someone merge in traffic/leave a tip things, but something nice for someone who doesn’t expect it. If you rise to the challenge..comment and tell me about it. 

That’s all for now. Have a great 2 weeks!

See you in 2 Sundays,

❤ SQ

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 3, 2011 6:21 pm

    Try a little kindness. It can be the best medicine for your day and maybe someone elses too.

  2. July 9, 2011 7:22 am

    Awesome! Being kind isn’t always easy, but it’s definitely worth the effort. Good luck!

    Cat

    • July 10, 2011 11:44 pm

      thank you for commenting cat!
      i absolutely love the concept behind your blog and look forward to catching up with all of your posts.

  3. July 10, 2011 9:39 pm

    I visit a residential care facility every Tuesday afternoon with my therapy dog, Bella. She brings so much joy to both the residents and the staff. But recently, I am seeing that I can be open to being a blessing as well. Taking time to converse with a relative visiting from far off and feeling lonely, etc. Thank you for your great post on being open to others who could use some kindness!

    • July 10, 2011 11:47 pm

      donna,
      what you and bella do sounds fantastic 🙂
      you are a blessing! keep taking the time to brighten the lives of other people.
      thank you for sharing your experience!

Leave a Reply

