Skip to content

The world I love, the tears I drop to be part of the wave…can’t stop

April 3, 2011
  • Title Inspiring Song: “Can’t Stop”-Red Hot Chili Peppers
  • Happy April!! NEW CAUSE TIME. This month’s cause is the World Food Program. The World Food Program is a program run by the United Nations and one of the world’s largest humanitarian agencies dedicated to fighting hunger worldwide. They have 5 main objectives which are the following…”save lives & protect livelihoods in emergencies, prepare for emergencies, restore and rebuild lives after emergencies,  reduce chronic hunger and undernutrition everywhere and to strengthen the capacity of countries to reduce hunger.” We take for granted the access we have to food daily and forget that there are some people around the world who go without meals for days or months. Again, my lovely SQ readers I am asking you to click and raise money for a good cause for free. For more information about the cause itself check out the following link: http://www.wfp.org/

“I take rejection as a bugle blowing in my ear to wake me up and get going, rather than to retreat.”-Sylvester Stallone

“I think that you have to believe in your destiny; that you will succeed, you will meet a lot of rejection and it is not always a straight path, there will be detours-so enjoy the view.”-Michael York

Good afternoon SQers! Hope your transition into April has not been too harsh between the disgusting weather and April Fools’ Day. I found a good subject to write about this week as this has been the pattern of things in my life recently. I am an obsessive planner and I come up with excellent endeavors for myself that I am interested in, but somehow one way or the other recently it’s been like all of those plans have been thrown out the window. So now I am in the A.R. (After Rejection/Postponement/Failure/Suckage…what have you) trying to figure out what to do with a million other projects going on at the same time. I’ll be honest..right after receiving the news I was angry and frustrated, but now with time I think I have come to a better place and can think about things in a more constructive way.

There is no if’s, and’s or but’s about it, rejection initially stinks almost anyway you look at  it. You tried for something, you planned and put effort into it and for one reason or another it didn’t work out. You’re mad trying to rack your brain and figure out why things didn’t work out as you planned. The coulda, woulda, shouldas also make a convenient appearance here and only make your reaction period more difficult. Was it me? Was it something I did or was it just not the right time? You start to question everything almost to the point of it making you neurotic (especially if you’re like me). When the real question you should be asking yourself at that point…is all of that going to get you anywhere?

All of that negative emotion, the self-criticism and the frustration does little for you except to put up a brick wall.  To really and truly be able to move forward you can’t spend your time like that. Take the loss or rejection as just a minor setback.  Take some time to reassemble and make some necessary changes and come up with a new plan of attack. Most importantly, keep trying and keep striving. So maybe you end up doing something that you had not planned on, but is that really going to be your biggest complaint about things looking back? Maybe this new endeavor works out and it allows you to experience something even better. Harnessing the energy & anger from that rejection and channeling it towards something constructive is the difficult part. But recognize that ultimately you will end up succeeding despite the fact that it may not be in the timetable that you would have liked.  Rejection is your bugle or kick in the butt to buck up, shape up and become more energized and driven than ever. Delight in the detours because they are a tiny piece of the puzzle in making you into the person you were meant to be.

Well that’s it for this week. Have a great couple of weeks! I will be taking a temporary hiatus from writing new posts. I have a monumentally important exam to take in about a month and am really trying to buckle down and focus on the exam and the exam only. But never fear, I’ll be back at the end of May. I love you all and thank you so much for reading all of these months. Wish me luck =/

See you in several Sundays,

❤ SQ

12 Comments leave one →
  1. April 3, 2011 6:49 pm

    Wise words. Thanks and good luck with the exams

  2. April 10, 2011 6:23 pm

    I just spent the last half an hour going backward, reading your thoughts. I came upon a picture of a little boy holding up a boulder and recognized the balancing rock at Garden of the Gods, near where I live. Love your thinking. I have only just recently begun to write; like you, also for myself. The only people who have read my blog are my best friends. I would love it if you would read my very first entry, about using my writing to find a way back to being contented. Here is the link: http://aliveincolorado.wordpress.com/

    • April 11, 2011 4:03 pm

      i did take a look at your blog and i think it is great. keep up the writing for yourself. i find that for me it has developed into being an excellent outlet for thoughts, emotions..etc.
      keep me posted on new posts and how everything is going.
      best of luck and thanks for commenting!

      • April 11, 2011 7:11 pm

        Thanks so much! I want to believe that I am writing for myself but that, like you, my words will contribute to the life of someone else. Thanks for your support.

      • April 12, 2011 12:52 pm

        awww well thank you so much for thinking that my words contribute to the life of someone else =]

  3. April 10, 2011 8:59 pm

    I wished everyone had your attitude. Great post!

    Blessings,

    Ava
    xox

    • April 11, 2011 3:56 pm

      thank you ava for commenting!
      stop back again in the future when i write newer posts =]

  4. April 11, 2011 5:05 pm

    Best of luck to you! See ya in a month-ish! 😀

  5. December 7, 2011 10:27 pm

    I gotta very importance test this Saturday and please people,Wish me luch
    I w’d precaite it:)

Leave a Reply

