Skip to content

My Ode to Pets

July 18, 2010
  • Keep at the clicking to raise money for charity:water!

“Animals are reliable, many full of love, true in their affections, predictable in their actions, grateful and loyal. Difficult standards for people to live up to.”- Alfred A. Montapert

“Dogs love their friends and bite their enemies, quite unlike people, who are incapable of pure love and always have to mix love and hate.” – Sigmund Freud

“A dog is the only thing on earth that loves you more than he loves himself.”  – Josh Billings

Good afternoon SQers! Hope you all had a fantastic week. I am sorry if the video I posted last week seemed too long to watch in one sitting, but if you ever get the time I absolutely recommend it. This week I began wanting to write about one thing, but here I am on Sunday writing about something completely different. It is funny how quickly things can change.

Today’s post is an ode to pets of sorts particularly to dogs. Pets can become integral parts of one’s life. They become more than an animal and a pet and evolve into a member of the family. In particular, dogs are incredibly perceptive and perhaps more loyal than most humans. Regardless of what kind of day you are having and what you have been through, they still greet you like you are the most important person in the world.  And the unconditional love they dish out on a consistent basis is just astounding.

How many people do you know that do that for you? Sure you can ride off people with pets as semi-crazy for caring about their pets so much. But loving and caring is not a sin. The bond you form with your pet is not something easy to describe or explain to someone else who has never had one.  If you don’t have one, just think about this..the relationship people have with their pets outlasts the majority of relationships people will have in their lives.  So the pet becomes more than just animal and becomes a part of their lives.

Parents that happen to be reading this post, if you’re kid wants a pet and is willing to take care of it. Get them a dog, cat, fish, hamster, bird..what have you. What they will learn from having a pet will surpass the residual annoyance you might experience.

 Having a pet is an incredible experience and something that changes your life whether you expect it to or not.  And I think I am going to leave this week’s post right here without getting overly emotional. But I would love to hear about your pets and/or your experience with pets. Am I going crazy or do you feel the same way?

That’s all for now. Have a great week!

❤ SQ

8 Comments leave one →
  1. unclerave permalink
    July 18, 2010 4:10 pm

    Absolutely, hon! My two dogs are definitely part of our family. My old mutt will be 17 this October. My daughter considers him her baby brother! My Golden is 5 + and still thinks she is a puppy/lap-dog! People always swear that she is smiling at them. She also is very fond of dancing. Pets rule! Whenever you’re feeling sick or down, your cat or dog (what have you) will help you commiserate, and try to help you feel better. They invariably provide that psychological boost that puts you in a better frame of mind. Have a great week, kid!

    • July 19, 2010 5:02 pm

      it’s great how they become part of the family. wow you’re dog is going to be 17..that’s awesome. there was another quote that i considered putting in this week’s post ,but didn’t, about how there’s is no psychatrist in the world like a puppy licking your face. so yes i agree they are a great psychological boost. they love you no matter what and are always glad to see you.
      thank you for commenting & sharing!

  2. July 19, 2010 1:47 pm

    I completely agree! My dog has worked her way into my heart in amazing ways – I love her more than I ever thought I would. And the great thing is she has so much love to give. When friends and family visit, everyone gets attention from her – but then she still comes back to me at the end of the day. And it’s so good for your soul to have a pet: something to take care of, to pet, to walk with, to cuddle with, to cry on.

    Thank you for this post – it made me smile!

    • July 19, 2010 5:02 pm

      it’s incredible how much love they have to give isn’t it?
      thank you for sharing eva!

  3. Barbara permalink
    July 21, 2010 3:49 pm

    It’s so true, the importance of pets in our lives. We had a Shetland Sheep Dog growing up. And too many cats to list here. I miss all their individual personality quirks. One thing I thought was endearing as my kids were growing up was that our cats seemed to know before we did that someone was not feeling well. They would cuddle up extra close to the sick kid and keep him or her company until they were up and about again.

    • July 21, 2010 9:10 pm

      yeah pets..dogs especially are incredibly perceptive.
      whenever i would be sick my dog would lay right next to me until i got up to keep me company. so cute!
      thank you for commenting barbara!

  4. August 15, 2010 4:46 pm

    As much as some people, such as the ones commenting on this blog love their dogs, other people on the planet love to eat dogs! The older I get the more complicated humans are to me. I love all animals, even spiders. Some, if not many people would think I’m nuts, but I don’t think so…

    • August 15, 2010 4:52 pm

      human nature is very complex and at times even more difficult to try and decode.
      glad to hear you’re another fellow animal lover & just for the record i don’t think you’re nuts.
      thank you for commenting!

Leave a Reply

