Skip to content

Even if I lose the game, I’m all in. I’m all in tonight, yeah i’m all in, i’m all in for life

April 25, 2010
  • Title Inspiring Song: “All In”-Lifehouse
  • One more week left in the  month of April so that means one more week before we switch to a new cause. Keep clicking to help raise money for Invisible Children!

“Until one is committed, there is hesitancy, the chance to draw back, always ineffectiveness.  Concerning all acts of initiative (and creation), there is one elementary truth the ignorance of which kills countless ideas and splendid plans. The moment one definitely commits oneself, then providence moves too.  All sorts of things occur to help one that would never otherwise have occurred.  A whole stream of events issues from the decision, raising in one’s favor all manner of unforeseen incidents and meetings and material assistance, which no man could have dreamed would have come his way.  Whatever you can do, or dream you can, begin it.  Boldness has genius, power and magic in it.  Begin it now.” 

~ Johann Wolfgang Von Goethe

       Welcome back! Hope you all had productive weeks and took my challenge to follow through on your endeavors.  Let’s jump into this week’s post.

        When someone says commitment, one of the first things I think of  is love & relationships. However, that’s not the only aspect of our lives we commit to. Anything we do for a long period of time  and are dedicated to whether it is in terms of education, a career or a hobby can be thought of as a form of commitment. Committment is the seal by which we bind ourselves to something we wish to achieve or invest in.

        But what exactly does it mean to commit? That can mean different things to different people. It is easy to say something, but not so easy to put it into practice. There is an important difference to note between interest and commitment. To be interested in something means “to have a sense of concern with and curiosity about something”. To be committed is “the trait of sincere and steadfast fixity of purpose”[according to the dictionary]. It is normal to have both about different aspects of your life, but you need to have some sense of commitment. Commitment is the anchoring compass of our lives guiding us to what’s next.

     That being said and committment having its positive attributes, I still think people as a whole (not just men) fear committment.  Committment is a big jump to make and requires a lot. It’s not something you do light-heartedly or jokingly, yet it is not something that needs to be feared. Yes, it does require a lot from you, but it is not a game-ender. The reason committment requires so much from you is because if it did not require you to go after it full-throttle, guns blazing and with everything you had, it would not be commitment. Do not excuse yourself by saying you do not have time, if you want it that bad..you will make time.

    Commitment is long-lasting, but it does not have to be permanent…you are still allowed to change your mind and recommit to something else. But let yourself commit, let yourself go after something with nothing holding you back. If anything that feeling and the lessons you learn from committing to that one thing will be worth it even if you do end up failing or not carrying it all the way through.  Remember actions speak louder than words. Hold yourself to it, write it down and make it happen even if that means buying a ring pop and making a promise to yourself. Commitment can be a beautiful thing.

See you next Sunday,

❤ SQ

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Barbara permalink
    April 25, 2010 3:35 pm

    Hi Divya, Thanks for linking to my blog! Good thoughts you express about commitment… sometimes I feel so overextended that I’m sure I will not be able to give enough attention to another commitment. I have changed my mind after giving something my best, as you say… I have found Von Goethe’s quote to be very true!

  2. April 25, 2010 8:38 pm

    Thanks Divya. Great quote. I think comittment is related to decision making. Life is easier if you just commit to a course of action i.e. decide what you ar going to do. If there is a difficult choice it often doesnt matter which choice , as long as you do it and don’t get stuck in indecision – not comitting to either.

    • April 25, 2010 8:52 pm

      i agree bruce.
      commitment can be related to commiting to a choice. sometimes it can be incredibly hard to do so, but often after you do everything else seems to fall into place.
      thank you for commenting!

  3. April 27, 2010 6:39 pm

    Oh boy… another good one! Commitment is a hard thing for me… I relate it to failing. I hate failing so I have a hard time committing to something; for the fear of failing at it. Most of the time I cower in a corner trying to avoid commitment, I need to force myself out of this routine, its getting me nowhere and I know it! I question everything, speaking of indecision (above comment)! I can never make up my mind… I need to just jump in and do something, anything! This sort of goes along with my follow through challenge I’ve given myself, thanks to you, I have committed to figuring out how to follow through with the things I want to do with my life! 😀

    Thanks! This blog was a good find for me, I am going through a bit of a life altering time, trying to pick up the pieces… and you are hitting the nail on the head with a lot of your posts. 🙂

    • April 27, 2010 9:22 pm

      i think we all hate failing, but sometimes all it takes is a little push to get out there and make a commitment to something. i’m finding that making a commitment can be a good step in the right direction and can also help anchor you.
      i’m glad the blog is helping at least one other person. ironically enough when i started it, it sort of was to help me in that kind of time as well and now it has become a lot more. stick with the commitment to work, change and follow through girl. the road is long, but there is light at the end of the tunnel..supposedly at least 🙂
      thank you for commenting!

  4. pity thoughts permalink
    May 2, 2010 4:45 am

    very nice…

  5. Scossyfus permalink
    May 19, 2010 10:58 am

    Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian, Satellite Direct Tv

Leave a Reply

