Skip to content

So since you want to be with me, you have to follow through

April 18, 2010
  • Title inspiring song: “Follow Through” -Gavin DeGraw
  • Continue clicking and helping to raise money for Invisible Children. Thank you to those of you who have already helped and continue to help!

“I can give you a six word formula for success: Think things through-then follow through.”-Sir Walter Scott

    Welcome back  SQ readers. I hope you all had an excellent week.Well without further ado, let’s jump into this week’s post.

     I have always loved tennis as a sport in all aspects: playing, watching and learning. When I was first learning how to play, I remember I used to always get yelled at about my follow through.  The follow through is the part after you hit or strike the ball, after the theoretical/natural completion of the shot. When you do not follow through it flattens out your shot and causes it most times to head straight into the net rather than up and over.  It was only until I learned to commit to my shots and see them all the way through that my game started to significantly improve.  As I got older, I started to understand that follow through is not a principle that applies only to sports, but to many aspects of our life.

      One of the aspects in which follow through manifests itself in life is in success. It’s great to take on an endeavor and see it through to the point where we think we have done all we can and are finished. We call it a success, call it a day and move on. But is that really succeeding? Unfortunately, life’s endeavors do not simply consist of just checking a couple of boxes and completing tasks. The process encompasses way more than that and in most cases asks of us more than we expect to give.

        What I have come to realize is that true success lies in that follow through. The part after where you think you would be done. In sports, the importance of that part of the shot is usually undermined, but ultimately it is that fundamental basic that determines the shot’s success. Determining success in life follows similar rules. To truly succeed, one must apply themselves wholeheartedly to what they do. Don’t look for the first easy exit and be in a race to say: I’m done. What next? Focus on what you are dealing with at the moment. See “your shots” all the way through. Put in the little bit of extra effort to go the extra mile. Make that follow-up call, do the extra problem set, push yourself for that extra lap, ask the question lingering in the back of your mind and take it to the next level. It is the small things that make the difference and allow us to truly succeed.   Trust me contrary to what you might believe it really does not take that much time or effort and the end result(successful shot) is going to be fist pump/victory dance or however you choose to celebrate it-worthy.

 Challenge yourself this week to follow through in everything that you do. Love, work, hobbies, exercise or whatever you are working on. See if it makes your “shots” more successful.

See you next Sunday,

❤ SQ

11 Comments leave one →
  1. April 18, 2010 5:24 pm

    Another good post.
    The best follow through is teaming up with someone who is a follow througher. Some people like initiating things ” ideas people”, some people just love completing things off. I am going to challenge myself this week though on the things I would normally fob off. Thanks

    • April 19, 2010 3:38 pm

      yeah i agree. sometimes it can be easier to find a partner-in-crime to help you stay motivated and follow through. glad to hear you’re taking the challenge. stop back and let me know how it goes
      thank you!

  2. April 19, 2010 12:23 pm

    oh – probably my most fave post by you. i have a very hard time following through with things, its my worst trait, in my opinion. i need someone to push me to keep my motivation going. its terrible, i need to somehow try and be a self motivator… i’m working on it. this week i am going to challenge myself! great post!
    thanks!!

    • April 19, 2010 3:43 pm

      aww well i’m really glad you liked the post. thank you!
      i think following through is one of those things..kinda like working out where it is sometimes easier to do with someone else. it makes you feel like you’re sort of being held accountable and have to keep going. i’m glad you’re taking on the challenge too. i think you can do it.
      stop back and let me know how it goes!

  3. serenehopeforyourdreams permalink
    April 21, 2010 3:10 am

    First post of yours I have completely read and I liked it(: I followed through with finally reading one of your posts, knowing I would most likely learn something or find some inspiration, and I have! This definitely applies to the amount of school work I need to just put an effort into and get done! This is so perfect for my week. Thanks(:

    • April 21, 2010 11:28 am

      i’m glad to hear you really liked this post.
      i think i am going to have to generally move to making them shorter if possible because i feel like is more digestable. sorry if they have been too long in the past.
      i feel you on having a lot of schoolwork to do this week, but stick with it. you can do it.
      thank you for commenting!
      p.s. gavin degraw is a good artist. i definitely like him and the song as well =]

  4. serenehopeforyourdreams permalink
    April 21, 2010 3:12 am

    Oh Yeah! And, I completely LOVE the song “Follow Through” by Gavin DeGraw(:

  5. Sarah permalink
    April 22, 2010 11:23 am

    This is one of my favourite songs because of this exact lyric. Great post! Looking forward to reading more of your blog!

  6. April 26, 2010 12:19 pm

    Okay… so I failed at my first attempt at following through, BUT… I am aware of where I went wrong and I intend to keep working at it! Rome wasn’t built in a day, they say! ha! 🙂 Thanks for the inspiration!

Leave a Reply

