Skip to content

I might choke,suffocate inside my anger cage

April 4, 2010
  • Title inspired song: “Anger Cage”-Course of Nature
  • New month. New cause. Thank you all who help raise money for SocialVibe causes in the past. April’s cause is Invisible Children. Invisible Children is an incredible cause raising money to rescue Joseph Kony’s child soldiers. Imagine being an abducted young child woken up in the middle of the night, being threatened to kill your own family and then handed a gun and forced to lead a life filled with ruthless violence & murder.  For more information about the cause: http://www.invisiblechildren.com/home.php or a great spotlight by my fellow blogger Tyler:http://tylerdouglasporter.com/2010/03/23/invisible-children-2/trackback/
  • Just a general comment that needs to be said…3 months..3,000 views? Just when I write once a week. That is crazy and blowing my mind a little. Thank you everyone!

“Anybody can become angry-that is easy, but to be angry with the right person and to the right degree and at the right time and for the right purpose, and in the right way-that is not within everybody’s power and is not easy.”-Aristotle

“I might be in an airport, late or angry with a ticket person, and I’m going to sort of check myself, because part of me is seen as Eric Camden. We all need as much help as we can get. It’s a role model to me as much as to anybody else.”-Stephen Collins

     Good afternoon SQ readers. Happy Easter to those of you who celebrate. Happy 6th day of Passover. Happy First Sunday in April! Hope your week went well what with April Fools’ and everything. Minus the gorgeous weather, I think I basically lived the Daniel Powter “Bad Day” song except the remixed week-long version.  It was not even like a legitimate real person to get angry with..it was just me being stupid and an accumulation of bad choices. Didn’t sleep too much early this week and ran around in the torrential rain which led to me getting a cold in the latter part of the week(the most beautiful part might I add), squirted soap in my eye at least twice this week, acquired an infection along the way, got exam scores back and found out I did not get into the program I wanted..etc. Wahhh..I could go on and on and we could play the my life sucks game ,but that’s not the point. When everything went wrong, I got pretty angry with myself which led to me hitting the gym at the beginning of the week (when I was still feeling alright) trying to sweat it all out, but I did not have that option later in the week with not feeling well in the midst of gorgeous weather. In the later part of the week, I got some time to reflect on anger/frustration. 

    We all get angry, even the most positive person has their angry times. Whether it is being angry at your coworker, your friend, your family member, your professor or most importantly you…it happens. Sometimes it may even be the accumulation of a lot of little things making you a lot angrier than anything else. People often speak of anger being a great source of motivation. Get angry…work harder and use it to help you. That’s a sweet message, but when you’re angry have you honestly ever thought: How can I channel this anger to better benefit me? Chances are not. Like the Aristotle quote, it is rare if we ever find the right way to be angry. That’s once in a blue moon stuff.

    If we rarely find the right way to be angry, what are we to do with ourselves the rest of the time? Until this week, I never realized how futile and useless the emotion anger is. It is not as if being angry will allow you to change fate and the way things are happening to you. Anger is a waste of your energy channeled into an over-the-top passionate emotional expression of feelings. Being angry unless it’s perfect anger is a waste of your energy and time. Think about the things you could have been doing with all the time you have ever wasted being angry. That alone may be enough to make you angry again.

     I bet you’re wondering how I plan to tie in the 2nd quote up there, but here it goes. For those of you who like me ended up watching a little bit of 7th Heaven growing up..you get the appeal. For those of you who did not, Eric Camden was a minister, model father for about 7+ children and just a great guy. Rarely got angry and always open enough to give to his community and his family. Stephen Collins views his role on 7th Heaven as a check for himself as he strives to be more like the fictional character of Eric Camden. We should all strive to be Eric Camden-esque in our ways. Leave the shirt-ripping anger to the Hulk. Find a healthy way to channel your anger: sweat it out, work it out, dance it out, paint it out or walk it out..whatever works. Even if it is not perfect, find a way to make it into the perfect kind  of anger and continue  playing like a champion.

That’s it for this week. Next week is the 2nd Sunday of the month, so if you have ideas/suggestions for posts…shoot me an email(address in the Ideas? section). See you next Sunday!

❤ SQ

9 Comments leave one →
  1. April 4, 2010 5:29 pm

    Thanks for the mention 🙂 and as always, great post! You deserve all the views you have received 🙂 keep it up! I’m glad you were able to change your week around, as being angry is never fun. I was in paradise all week (Hawaii) so luckily I was able to have a stress-free and relaxing week. Glad to hear things are better for you now though! Have an awesome week! 🙂

    • April 5, 2010 12:26 pm

      thank you tyler!
      jealous that you got to go to hawaii. how was your trip?
      at least the weather here is supposed to be nice all week..so i really can’t complain
      i hope you have an awesome week too!

      • April 6, 2010 11:46 pm

        the trip was great! I honestly didn’t want to leave! and it didn’t help that I had to come home to snow either! thank you 🙂 look forward to your next post!

  2. unclerave permalink
    April 5, 2010 11:42 am

    All of the emotions in your graphic can play a part in our far too frequent bouts of anger. Fear and frustration are probably the largest underlying causes of my – not always evident, but ever present – underlying anger. Fear of failing . . . AND fear of succeeding. And, of course, the frustration of not having the courage to try. I think that there must be a latent anger involved in procrastination.

    Keep up the good work, dear lady! I don’t always comment, but I enjoy reading your missives.

    • April 5, 2010 12:27 pm

      yeah i felt like it was a good graphic. for some reason i think it is actually a magnet on our fridge. i agree i think anger is a part of procrastination and also that we get angry for all different reasons.

      thank you for taking the time to comment! you should do it more 🙂

  3. April 5, 2010 2:32 pm

    Ah, do I struggle with anger. This post really hit home for me. Yes, I agree it’s important to find an outlet (a healthy outlet) for that angry energy. Exercise is perfect.

    Great Aristotle quote!

  4. April 10, 2010 3:00 pm

    I don’t have time to really read through all the posts right now, but I’ll be back. Love your quotes and what I’ve read so far!

  5. Madison Woods permalink
    April 10, 2010 10:58 pm

    Timely anger quote. Sometimes I feel I can’t make necessary changes in my life without anger as a propellant. It would be really grown-up of me to make the needed change without sucha prop, though, especially since I haven’t seemed to muster up enough anger yet. It’s not an emotion I cling to ordinarily.

Leave a Reply

