Skip to content

When did your heart go missing?

March 21, 2010
  • Title song: “When Did Your Heart Go Missing”-Rooney
  • Keep up the clicking for DonateLife and as always feel free to comment!
  • Oh and I just found this today. There are benefits to striving to be more positive and happy, a study suggests that it might even reduce heart disease. If you want to read more about it, check out this article: http://www.dailygood.org/more.php?n=4035

“Your time is limited, so don’t waste it living someone else’ s life. Don’t be trapped by dogma-which is living with the results of other people’s thinking. Don’t let other’s opinions drown out your own inner voice. And most important, have the courage to follow your heart and intuition. They somehow already know what you want to truly become. Everything else is secondary.”-Steve Jobs

“Above all, be true to yourself, and if you can’t put your heart in it, take yourself out of it.”-Unknown

Good afternoon on this very sunny Sunday which is almost the complete opposite of last Sunday! I hope you all have had a decent, if not wonderful week adjusting to Daylight Savings hopefully you like me had extremely  nice weather which made everything better.

Let me start off, this week’s post with a question: When you were younger, what did you want to be when you grew up? You can either answer that in your head or leave a comment because I would love to hear about it. I’ll share mine and tell you that when I was very young I used to tell my parents I wanted to be a garbage-woman. I have no idea where that fascination came from, but it really happened. After that, I went on to become interested in a bunch of different things and now here I am today. We all probably did not go on to follow whatever it was we were interested in as children and it probably makes for a funny story now that we’re older.

My point is even at that early of an age you started to decide what you like and develop preferences for things. Ironically and here’s a little fun nerdy fact for you, our heart beats the fastest as an infant at about 120 beats/min and by the time your 18 it slows down to about 70 beats/min. So it’s when we’re younger that our hearts are beating the fastest, taking in and  we start being influenced by everything around us. Our brain is still developing, but our heart is pounding away from the time we leave the womb to our last dying breath. If our heart is so important physiologically, why do we spend so much of our later years discounting it? Heart wins a lot figuratively when we’re young, but the older we get the more we let our brain/outside influence push the heart and intuition aside.

Everyone knows that feeling you get when you can feel your heart beat accelerating..maybe after a great workout, excited or even when you’re doing something you really truly love. It is in those scenarios you know your heart is just as alive as it has always been and that is probably accompanied by a lot of happiness. We choose to discredit the value of our heart and intuition because that’s just crazy..no one lives solely based on that. It is very hard to live in that extreme just as much as it is to rely solely on your mind. Most of us live heading towards the latter extreme forgetting about our heart. As the Steve Jobs quote mentions there really is not a point in living life that way. You are you because of your heart and intuition and it is what makes you different from your co-worker Susie or your neighbor down the street. You owe it to yourself to live YOUR life with meaning and to follow your “inner voice”, don’t live someone’s else’s. You are a unique and individual person with so much to offer the world and that is something you need to internalize.

Don’t waste your life with things that you cannot put your heart into. That’s not to say you should abandon all of the menial chores that allow you to function on a regular basis because you need  them to function as you should. I am trying to say( to take an idea from my creed) that you should find the things that make your heart race. The things that make you excited, constantly surprise you and that you love with every last bit of your heart. Do those things and cut out the things you are doing because you think you should a.k.a.  that you do not care about. You are at your best when you are putting your heart into what you do and truly love it. This might seem like a radical, crazy thing to say and it does take a lot of courage to do. But I think you can do it. Step up to the plate and let your mind and heart work as  a tag team duo rather than letting either fly solo. Find the things that make your heart race and chase after them because life is way too short to waste it wondering what if and to live like an empty shell without meaning.

 

See you next Sunday,

❤ SQ

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Jim permalink
    March 21, 2010 1:44 pm

    Challenging, because we spend our lives just working to pay the bills. Even so, as I get older it’s less about wanting to accomplish something as it is trying to live joyfully even in the so-called “ordinary” things of life. And I’m hoping to more deeply connect with people.
    What did I want to be when I was a little boy? Sadly, I can’t remember just now. When I was an adolescent, I wanted to be Fonzie from “Happy Days.” (I guess the larger than life hero type.)
    I’ve been coming by here a few weeks, now. I enjoy your posts very much.

    • March 21, 2010 3:05 pm

      i think you are right. there has been a cultural/societal shift to become very goal-oriented and to always fulfill that primary goal of being able to provide for ourselves and our family. the importance of being able to monetarily provide for oneself leads us to take the not so desirable jobs/tasks and for us to put what we actually want to do on hold. it actually becomes a problem when we become so routed in that everyday routine that it becomes mechanistic in nature and we sort of abandon what is (for the lack of a better way to say this) what we really want in our heart of hearts, even when we don’t have to. we should always hold on to those goals and things in our life we want to accomplish them even if it takes sometime before we actually get to accomplish them because they are just as important as working to pay the bills. it’s part of what gives our lives meaning.

      awww fonzie. that’s cute. i like that. thank you for coming here jim. i’m glad you commented and that you appreciate my posts =]

  2. March 23, 2010 6:11 pm

    I might be rare, but I fight not to follow my heart! I try so hard to follow my head… but I always end up following my heart and I have gotten myself into some hurt. Recently, even.

    Its a constant battle…

    Anyway, per usual… great post! Thank you for this. I love the quotes, they are great ones!!

    P.S. I wanted to be a teacher when I was a lil lil kid… then it changed to doctor… I never came close to either one; and I for sure don't do anything I even close to love for a living. More like loath. But its never too late to find the thing I'd love to do… right? 🙂 Even if it takes me 14 years…

    • March 23, 2010 9:50 pm

      i tried a similar thing a couple months ago. to try and see if i could try dating with less emotion or “date like a guy”(sorry if that offends any men that happen to be reading this) as i liked to call it. it went well for a while, but as one of my friends cleverly pointed out, i’m still a girl and i’m always going to have emotion. plus i found that the more i tried to stifle or get rid of it, the more it ended up coming out in some not so good ways. so i say follow your heart even if it is not easy

      it is never too late. what you love to do does not have to be your career, but i am sure if you still want to you can find some way of integrating parts of what you love to do into what you already do. thank you for commenting!

  3. March 23, 2010 7:02 pm

    I wanted to be a professional baseball player 🙂 after graduating high school, I realized it was time to choose a new career path haha. Great post, loved what you had to say. I think too many of us are too caught up in those “everyday routines” and we let it take over our lives. It’s a sad thing to see, for sure.

    Have a great week!

    • March 23, 2010 9:52 pm

      haha awww professional baseball player. do you still play at all?
      yeah it is kind of unfortunate how we let the monotony of routine win out in our lives

      thank you for commenting tyler!

      • March 24, 2010 11:34 am

        I wish, I really miss playing. I stopped after high school though.

      • March 24, 2010 1:14 pm

        i understand that. i used to fence in high school as weird as that sounds, but i miss it too 🙂

Leave a Reply

