Skip to content

So give me something to believe ’cause I am living just to breathe

March 14, 2010
  • Title inspiring song: “Believe”-The Bravery
  • Poll results are that every 2nd week of the month we are going to switch it up a little bit. The 2nd sunday of the month, the posts are either going to be based on an email idea/suggestion or a little bit more of a creative post. So check the Ideas page and let me know if you have an idea for next month =]
  • Keep up the work clicking and raising money for DonateLife, ask me questions on formspring and as always comment because I love when you do

“One life is all we have and we live it as we believe in living it. But to sacrifice what you are and to live without belief, that is a fate more terrible than dying.”~Joan of Arc

     Happy Pi Day! Hope your week was not filled with too much procrastination like mine was and welcome back on what for me is a very rainy Sunday in March. 

     From the time that we first head to school and start to become conscious of everything which we are surrounded by, we are fed ideas. These ideas are of our parents,  family, religion, friends, subject areas, teachers, schools and famous people. For a while we might take these ideas in a default manner as our own, but it is not really until a later age that we sort through the messy jar of ideas that we have collected, to decide what to keep, believe and make our own. The end result, which we take to be our ideas, might bear a heavy resemblance to what we were exposed to at an early age yet they have a singular importance and value to us.

     A lot of successful endeavors involve trying to sell an idea to people or get them to buy into yours. Within the art of persuasion naturally there is some deception, trickery and lying. Surrounded by such negative influences, the only true reminder lies within us about what we believe.  It is ultimately this set of beliefs that drives the way we act and react on a daily basis.

     A belief is deeper than  a Yes, I believe in the merits of the death penalty and I believe we should all have health insurance. I classify that more as being an opinion or a stance. I think a belief gets more at the core of your being. Despite beliefs being that important, I bet no one has come out and asked you to your face…”What do you believe?”. Well here’s your chance..let’s figure it out.

     This little idea is borrowed from my fabulous friend who read All I Really Need to Know I Learned in Kindergarten by Robert Fulghum and wrote her own creed. I referenced Robert Fulghum in an earlier post and I am a fan of his ideas. He wrote a creed stating his beliefs which is below:

I believe that imagination is stronger than knowledge.
That myth is more potent than history.
That dreams are more powerful than fact.
That hope always triumphs over experience. 
That laughter is the only cure for grief.
And I believe that love is stronger than death.

Regardless of whether we are published authors or not, I think it is important for us to all figure out what we believe. So I too wrote my own which is here:

I believe that people are inherently good

That we all have a purpose in life whether we know it or not

 That mistakes and failures are necessary to learn and grow

That life has a natural ebb and flow just about as natural as a heartbeat

That we should hold on to what in our lives makes our heart race

That the small things matter

And I believe that sometimes we forget just how powerful and strong we are.

Writing a credo and figuring out what you believe is an interesting and thought-provoking task. This week I challenge all of you to write your own creed and to figure out what you believe. 

Dare to believe and use those beliefs to guide you. And don’t let anyone take them away from you.

See you next Sunday!

❤ SQ

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 16, 2010 3:07 pm

    superb blog! I love it 🙂 I have just subscribed to it, so that I can stalk you :))))
    I also love the story behind its creation,
    Monika

    • March 16, 2010 7:14 pm

      thank you monika!
      yes definitely come back for a new post every sunday
      i like your blog too 🙂

  2. March 16, 2010 7:04 pm

    ooh, i’m totally going to do this! i thought about it briefly, so i know it will take some time, but i am going to come up with a credo/things i believe in… i love your list, i can’t wait to come up with my own! 😀

    • March 16, 2010 7:16 pm

      yeah definitely try it and let me know how it goes for you
      it is a kind of quirky, but all the more thought-provoking experience

Leave a Reply

