Skip to content

I’ll be there for you when the rain starts to pour

February 7, 2010

(Lyrical minds or anyone, if you’re wondering where the title is from…it’s from the Friends theme song. “I’ll Be There For You”-The Rembrandts. I don’t know why I felt it necessary to tell you that at this very moment, but hey if you want you can youtube it while you read my post or  whatever. It’s a pretty happy song and I happen to love Friends)–> Maybe I’ll start adding a song with every week’s post since I already do to the title.  Dorky I know, but we’ll see what happens 🙂

“I do not wish to treat friendships daintily, but with the roughest courage. When they are real, they are not glass threads or frost-work, but the solidest thing we know.”-Ralph Waldo Emerson

Happy Superbowl Sunday! I hope this week has gone a lot better for all of you then it has for me. Before I dive in to this week’s post may I just say that I feel considerably blessed to have this blog up for a little over a month now and to have so many people reading it. It astonishes me and if at least one person likes what they read each week..that is all I could ever ask for.

Our family are primarily people we sometimes take for granted. Fate picks who we’re related to and we know that regardless of what happens (for the most part) that like it or not they will be the people who are with us from the very start to the end. But who is everyone else in our life? Our friends form an integral part as the people we choose almost forming a secondary family of sorts.

Over the course of your life your reasons for picking friends change. In kindergarten, it may be the person who shared crayons with you and liked the slide just as much as you do. As we grow up it might be the neighbor who we’ve known since grade school, the coworker in the next cubicle over, the person who hits the gym with you or the classmate who has perhaps physically always been around you.  Friends change as a result of our lives, interests and goals which constantly change. I also believe there are different degrees of friendship. There are people who can be fun to hang out with and there’s also the true best friends that have always been there.

What separates those degrees of friendship from one another? To an extent that depends on you as an individual, but there are certain qualities that make someone a true/best friend which is what to me what this quote gets to the heart of. It is easy to be a friend in someone’s success and good humor. But when everything falls apart and when things get rough, you’ll find that the people you can count on to understand and back you up are your true friends.  A true friend will back you up and be there for support.  They are the type of person that would be by your side ready to throw a punch, to hold your hand and to catch you if you ever were to fall. They know what matters to you…not just your favorite color, favorite music or how you take your coffee. They know what matters most..what scares you, what you want in life and what makes you tick.

Just as important as everything I just said is to a true friend, there’s a key notion of reciprocity. With a true friend you aren’t as conscious of it, but it’s there. A subtle balance that helps perpetuate things. It’s quite a simple concept really..you be the kind of friend you want to have. You give as much as you take and listen as much as you talk.  With a true friendship, it is not something you waste your time counting and keeping track of, but it’s an internal check system that I can promise you if is thrown off you will feel. A friendship is a two-way street of trust, understanding and a lot more. You need to be able to trusted as a friend as much as you trust your friend. As many friends as a singular person might have, I can guarantee the people in your life that you really have that true friendship with are a few. But when you do have that kind of friendship, that’s what makes it as Emerson says “one of the solidest things you know”.

Be thankful for the people in your life who you can count on in the sunny, happy times and the times when the rain pours relentlessly on you at your lowest low.  Remember reciprocity. True friendship as we all come to learn at some point in our lives is difficult to come by.

Here’s to the start of a hopefully great week for you. See you next Sunday.

❤ SQ

*If anything pops up in your mind that you want to see discussed or if you have anything you want to say. Check out the ideas page and feel free to email.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 10, 2010 1:02 am

    It’s such a blessing to have people in your life who love and care about you. I think many of us take that so for granted. I know that my family and good friends would do anything for me, and I would do the same for them. It’s so nice to have that solidity in my life! Great post.

Leave a Reply

